Gun Law Seminar:
We are sponsoring a Gun Law Seminar presented by U.S. Lawshield on Monday July 9, 2018. This seminar will review the laws related to the use of deadly force, concealed carry, how to deal with Law Enforcement and other issues related to the use of firearms in self defense or defense of a third person. The seminar will be held at the American Legion Post 20, 205 Denver Avenue, Russellville AR. The event will start at 6:00 PM and run until approximately 9:00 PM. You can reserve a seat at this seminar thru their website at this link, or you can go to http://www.gunlawseminar.com/calendar/. Scroll down the list of events on their calendar click the "register" tab on the line for the Russellville event.
Handgun Fundamentals Class:
There will be a Basic Handgun Fundamentals class Saturday, July 14 2018 at the West Side Family Center 201 North Waco, Russellville AR. North Waco is one block off Main Street, just 5 blocks West from St. Mary's Hospital. If you would like to learn how to shoot a handgun or become more confident with handguns this course is designed for you. This is a 4 hour training course, In this class you will: 1. Learn to safely handle and control your handgun 2. Learn to properly clean and care for your handgun 3. Learn the various components of a handgun 4. Learn about different types of handguns 5. Try different types/sizes of handguns to find out what you can comfortably hold and shoot. Please arrive no later than 7:45. Class starts promptly at 8:00 AM. Cost of the class is $30 per student and class is limited to 15 students. A non-refundable $15 deposit is required to register for the class. Call Old Bank Gun and Pawn at 479-229-2228 for details and to check for seating availability. You must be of 18 years or older or have a parent or guardian accompany you in the class. You can sign up at Old Bank Gun and Pawn, 310 Union Streetin Dardanelle or mail your deposit check to: Arkansas River Valley Gun Club, P.O. Box 1987, Russellville Ar, 72811. Bring your handgun to class along with at least 50 rounds of ammunition for the live fire training portion at our shooting range in Dardanelle. Please dress appropriately for the weather.
Basic Concealed Carry Class:
There will be an Arkansas concealed carry class Saturday, July 28, 2018 from 7:30AM to 4:00PM (or until finished). The classroom portion of the course will be at West Side Family Center, 201 North Waco in Russellville. North Waco is 5 blocks West of St. Mary's Hospital on Main Street. The live fire portion will be at the ARVGC firing range in Dardanelle . The range is outdoors, dress appropriately for weather conditions. Directions / map will be provided. The class covers everything needed to get your Arkansas concealed carry permit. The cost of the course is $50. Per person. A non-refundable deposit of $25. Is required to reserve your spot. (Class size is limited) Taking of finger prints are included in the cost. THIS DOES NOT INCLUDE THE COST OF THE CONCEALED CARRY LICENSE. The cost for the license and background check is $137.00 payable to the Arkansas state Police. You have 6 months after completing the course to submit this application and pay this fee. The license is good for FIVE years. You must be a resident of Arkansas for 90 days or longer preceding the filing of the application. Signup for the class at The Old Bank Gun & Pawn in Dardanelle. If you have any further question you can call the Old Bank Gun and Pawn at 479-229-2228.
Enhanced Concealed Carry Class:
There will be an Arkansas enhanced concealed carry class on Saturday August 25, 2018 The Class starts 7:30 AM. The classroom portion of the course will be at West Side Family Center, 201 North Waco in Russellville. North Waco is 5 blocks West of St. Mary's Hospital on Main Street. The live fire portion will be at the ARVGC firing range in Dardanelle . The range is outdoors, dress appropriately for weather conditions. Directions / map will be provided. The cost of the course is $100 Per person. A non-refundable deposit of $50 Is required to reserve your spot. (Class size is limited) Please mail your deposit to: Arkansas River Valley Gun Club c/o Old Bank Gun and Pawn P.O. Box 394 Dardanelle, Arkansas 72834 Make your check payable to "ARVGC". Or you can apply in person at The Old Bank Gun & Pawn at 310 Union St. in Dardanelle during normal business hours. A current Arkansas CHCL is a prerequisite for this course. Please include your CHCL number with your application if mailed in, or present your CHCL when signing up in person at Old Bank. Cost of updating your current CHCL for the Enhanced endorsement is $15 for folks 64 and under and $7.50 for those over 65. You must have eye and ear protection (glasses or sunglasses are ok, ear plugs or muffs. Firearms are not required in the classroom. If you bring a firearm into the classroom please keep it concealed. The live fire portion of the class will require a minimum of 50 rounds of ammunition. You should probably bring 100 rounds or more. Please bring FACTORY AMMUNITION, reloads are NOT acceptable. Scoring will be on a standard B27 silhouette target on "hit" or "miss" basis. 7 ring or better is a hit. A minimum score of 35 hits out of 50 rounds fired is required to pass the course. You may use any handgun with any sights, but the firing sequence is timed so a semi-automatic would be advised. Also make sure your firearm is in good working order and functioning reliably, as jams and misfires will count as "miss" in the scoring. If you have questions please call The Old Bank Gun & Pawn 479-229-2228 from 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM Monday thru Friday or until noon on Saturday.