Join the hundreds of our graduates who already have a concealed handgun permit.
All of our instructors are licensed by the Arkansas State Police.
Click here to look up a licensed Instructor.
Cost of Class is $50 ($25 nonrefundable deposit)
$25 due at beginning of class
Class includes a complete ready to mail package with fingerprints meeting the requirements of Arkansas Act 419 of 1995. The Arkansas Concealed handgun carry permit is currently valid in 38 states.
The $50 class fee does not included $88.25 (64 and younger) $63.25 (65 and older) fees to be paid to the State Police upon formal application Price effective July 24, 2019. Students have six months from completion of the class to apply for a permit. Attending the class does not obligate you to apply for the permit or pay the state police fees.
Items required to complete the class: The student must have a hand gun, either revolver or semi-automatic (semi-automatic is required for a unrestricted carry permit) At least 75 rounds of ammunition EYE and EAR protection.
To upgrade to the enhanced concealed handgun permit you must currently hold a basic permit.
Cost of the class is $100 this does not include the $15 ( $7.50 if you’re 65 or older) to the state police. This is the same fee they charge for replacing a lost or damaged card.
The Live Fire Range Qualification:The Live Fire Range Qualification will take a couple of hours.
At the range you will fire 50 rounds at a B27 target to qualify. 20 rounds at 3 yards, 20 rounds at 7 yards and 10 rounds at 15 yards.
Scoring is on a Hit or Miss basis. Any round inside the 7 ring or better is a hit. Any round outside the scoring area is a miss.
Any round fired AFTER the allowed time expires or NOT FIRED AT ALL is a miss. To pass the course and qualify you have to HIT with 35 out of 50 rounds.
The scoring area on a B27 is 16 inches wide and 24 inches tall so you shouldn’t have any trouble hitting the target.
Shots will be fired from a “Ready” position; firearm loaded, in hand and ready to go at the sound of the starting timer.
You can use any handgun you want, with any sights. But make sure the gun and ammo are reliable and will cycle every time you pull the trigger, because jams and misfires will cause you to run out of time before you fire all the required shots.
If, for some reason you don’t score high enough to qualify on your first try, you can try it twice more that day. (Bring plenty of extra ammunition if you are in doubt )
If you fail to qualify after 3 attempts, Arkansas Law says you have to take the entire course over again and cannot try again for at least 90 days.
You license is good for 5 years, but upgrading to enhanced does not “start the clock” all over again. Your expiration date will stay the same.
If your current Basic license is due for renewal within 6 months from now, you can wait and send in your Upgrade application with your renewal request and avoid having to pay the additional $15 card replacement fee.